Naked Vanilla-Apricot Cake

Difficulty: Easy
Deliciousness: 3 out fo 5 slices
This cake was delicious! No frosting needed on this moist sweet cake , which melted in your mouth really didn’t need any help. A layer of apricot jam in between the layers added a citrus tart element to compliment the vanilla. It was so good,  that it brought tears of joy to the eyes of a vegan who decided to try it. What more can I say?

Here’s more proof that I’m hopelessly un-cool, even in cake preferences. I had absolutely no clue what a “naked” cake was. This came up in conversation about wedding cakes, with a friend of mine, Michelle, who is also engaged. “I  definitely want a naked cake!” Michelle said. I responded with a stupefied look. What was this ‘naked’ cake she spoke of?

Naked cakes, I found out, are a cake trend with a rustic aesthetic. The layers of cake are exposed, and naked. There is no frosting, although sometimes there is a light coating of powdered sugar. With further investigation, I found dozens of Pinterest boards and articles aimed at brides to be talking up this kind of cake. When did this happen, and how did I miss this? As far as I can tell, we have Angelina Jolie to thank for this exposed baked good fad. I didn’t see the appeal

I just didn’t see the appeal. It looked like some overworked baker didn’t have time to frost these poor cakes. Keeping an open mind, I decided to make one. After all, it must be easier given that it’s so basic and unfrosted. I felt nervous because, without frosting to hide the little imperfections,  or compliment a bland batter, this cake would have to be really good.

I decided to make two layer cake, from a simple vanilla batter. I decided to add a layer of apricot preserves and dust with powdered sugar. As predicted it was easier, and quick to throw together. I didn’t have homemade jam, but that would be ideal, Smuckers worked just fine and the tartness of apricots worked really well with this moist and sweet cake. My tips would be to line your pans fully with parchment paper and be careful when removing it from the pan. Since there will be no frosting to hide the burnt spots, you must watch this cake while it’s cooking.

I got rave reviews of this cake, especially from diet conscious people who don’t want the calories of frosting. Personally, I remain unconvinced. Yeah, it was one hell of a cake and I liked it a lot. Would it have been better with a buttercream frosting? I tend to think yes, but some people obviously disagree.

Image-1 (1).jpg

Leave a Reply

