Flourless Chocolate Cake

Deliciousness: 5 out fo 5 slices
Difficulty: Medium
This cake was pretty awesome! This is an easy recipe to add to your baking repertoire. I can’t wait to make it again soon because my friends really liked it. My concerns that it would taste like a chocolate omelet because it’s mostly chocolate and eggs, were misplaced. It was rich and chocolatey, with a creamy texture similar to a cheesecake.

This week I took on a new challenge in the kitchen, baking without one of the essential ingredients in my cupboard- flour. I am as far from gluten free as you can get, a gluten fanatic. My entire family loves gluten. If we were going to start some sort of creepy food cult it would be a likely be a temple devoted to wheat. Which may leave you scratching your head and asking, why ditch the gluten? Obviously, I didn’t do it for myself.

One of my best friends Annie is gluten free so her birthday cake posed a unique problem. Since my  prior attempt at baking with a gluten-free flour was a flop, this time, I decided to follow some wise advice and just cut out the flour altogether. I’ve had a flourless torte before but until now I never appreciated that literally, it was free of wheat flour. Side note: Annie loves chocolate and I seriously considered just making a ton of fudge, shaping it into a cake, and slapping some candles on top- but fudge is not a cake. This is not the year of the fudge.

The recipe I chose to use this week comes from the food network. I picked it because it seemed straightforward and uncomplicated-everything you want when you’re unsure of what you’re doing. Unfortunately, I misplaced the recipe while I was at Annie and I worked from memory. As a result, I accidently added extra butter  (two sticks total) and I forgot the salt. Whoops! Thankfully it turned out excellent. I frosted it with some leftover chocolate frosting from my chocolate raspberry cake and decided to use it on top. The resulting cake was amazingly rich and delicious.

annie-bday

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

