Pumpkin Cheesecake

Deliciousness: 5 out fo 5 slices
Difficulty: Easy
Stop spending time making pies and come over to team cheesecake. This rich and delicious pumpkin cheesecake was the perfect fall dessert.  It was so good that I will definitely have to make this again on Thanksgiving. Also, it was easy to make better than just about any pie I’ve ever had! Pair it with whipped cream for maximal enjoyment.

This week my baking is dedicated for friend Alyssa’s birthday. Happy birthday! I thought I’d try another Paul Dean recipe since her coffee cake last week was a smash. This was my first cheesecake, and I was a little nervous about the amount of cream cheese and sour cream that went into it. Also, if I’m being totally honest…I had no idea that sour cream even went into a cheesecake. In keeping with my Autumnal theme, I decided to make it pumpkin flavored. Ah, Fall. Time to eat some pumpkin spiced anything!

Props to Paula D’s team-I was super impressed with how clearly this recipe was written. I have a major problem with recipes that aren’t written with precision and detail. I don’t know what I’m doing in the kitchen so please, help me by writing well! Ok, I’ll stop ranting, I apologize to all five of you reading this…

This recipe was really easy and as a bonus, it didn’t dirty many bowls. What was tricky about making a cheesecake was that the cream cheese got really stuck on my mixer. I had to do a complicated maneuver, don’t try this at home, where I turned my mixer on high and  spun them while lifting them until it all was flung off. Next, I microwaved it, and I advise you to do the same until it’s warm to touch and partially melted. I’m not sure if this is sound advice baking advice, but the way I see it, it’s going to melt very soon in the oven anyways.

I worried because I had is that there were visible lumps. I gave it my best and really beat the batter but I couldn’t get it to be smooth. Lumpy batter be damned, once I gave up and baked it, all went well. It was still jiggly in the middle when I pulled it out, but as it cooled and I refrigerated overnight it became solid. The result was absolutely fantastic, and it made my entire apartment smell like Autumn. It tasted really good! It was like a pumpkin pie and a cheesecake had a delicious baby together.

pumpkin-cheese-cake-2

Leave a Reply

