Cookie Quest

The past several weeks have been extra chaotic and I’ve had to take a hiatus from the year of the cake challenge. At first, I felt guilty. I’m failing at the one cake a week challenge that I set for myself. That said, the baking continues in my kitchen in other areas. Lately, I have been trying to perfect my chocolate chip cookie recipe.

Typically, my cookies have been spectacular flops. My father even asked me once to stop wasting ingredients on cookies because they are so bad. One noteworthy cookie incident includes the time I made no-bake cookies for my then boyfriend to take to work. A nice gesture, even if it was poorly executed. His boss actually chipped her tooth on my cookies, which were so some reason literally as hard as rocks.

Chocolate chip cookies, historically present a different problem, namely that as they bake they get ridiculously thin and crispy. It’s like they are trying to run away, spreading out in every direction. After some late night googling I found a very cool project where someone scientifically tested variations on chocolate chip cookies.

Finally-science !! After reading the very detail article which deconstructs chocolate chip cookies I realized that there were several possible reasons my chocolate chip cookies run:

1. My oven wasn’t hot enough

2. I had too much sugar and not enough flour

3. My leavening chemical, baking soda or powder, was not working.

So, knowing these things I looked critically at my recipe and altered it, keeping in mind the recommendations that I read. The resulting cookies were a hit at a recent Halloween party and my brother in law really liked them too. Here is my recipe and recommendations to all of you out there trying to get it right; keep on trying! I believe in you and know that you can do it.

Megan’s Chocolate-Chip Cookies

Instructions

Combine room temperature butters with sugars using an electric mixer until creamy. Next, add eggs and egg white one at a time to the mixture. Take the baking soda and dissolve it in a tablespoon of warm water, and add to the mixture with the vanilla. Next, add flour a half cup at a time using the slow setting on your electric mixer. Last but not least, add the chocolate and the salt by folding them in with a wooden spoon. Bake for 12 minutes at 350 F, and then immediately remove cookies and let them cool on a wire rack.

Ingredients

1 stick salted butter (1/2 C.) & 1 stick unsalted butter (1/2 C.)

1 C. White sugar & 1 C. Brown sugar

2 large eggs & 1 egg white

1 tsp. Baking soda dissolved in 1 Tbs. Warm water

2.5 C. All purpose white flour

1.5 C. Chocolate chips (Dark chocolate preferred)

1 Tbs. Medium to coarsely ground sea salt

2 tsp. Vanilla extract

Leave a Reply

