Apple Tatin

Difficulty: Medium
Deliciousness: 5 out of 5 slices
Move over pineapple upside down cake, I’ve found a new favorite in the category of upside-down food. This inverted apple tart is fun to make and amazingly tasty. If you’re like me and searching for ways to eat more apples, this is the answer! This cake was super moist and sweet with the texture of a very fluffy pancake.

This week I’m tried my hand at a cake that’s been on my bucket list for a while. Although I’m not sure if it’s a cake since technically it’s a… a tatin…? I had no clue what that meant but when I saw Ina Garten make it on her cooking show a while ago it looked like a great solution for people like me who find themselves unable to make a good pie crust. Don’t even get me started on how hard it is to make a good pie crust.

Back to tatins, I did some googling and learned that a “tarte tatin” is just an upside down tart that’s usually made with apples. The apples are caramelized in butter and sugar before you add batter and bake it. The invention is credited to the Tatin sisters who ran a 19th century inn where they made their guests’ mouths water with this signature dish. There is even a website devoted to the history of this dish, which some say was an accident in the kitchen. Not that accidents don’t happen, but I think the Tatin sisters knew what they were doing when they invented this dessert.

I enjoyed getting out my candy thermometer, which I have only used once, to make the caramelized sugar the most. I was getting a little afraid that I would burn it but I stuck to these well -written instructions, not stirring it and heating on high until it turned light brown (350° F). My favorite part was pouring this bubbling lava-like sugar over the apple slicesthat I arranged in a spiral in the bottom of my pie dish. It actually sizzled when the molten sugar touched the apples! I was impressed with how well it came out of the generously buttered pie dish. I don’t know what I was expecting, I rubbed a stick of butter all over if, so of course it was nonstick!

My friends said it reminded them of some kind fo really delicious pancake. It was ridiculously moist, probably from the sour cream. I think it boardered on too sweet but it was pretty amazing. I think it was the best upside down cake I’ve ever had! I can’t wait to make this one for the grandma, who loves pineapple upside down cake. I think that she will really like this recipe since here in NY we have may more apples than pinneapples. If you don’t like apples, that’s fine too, because I think that this recipe could be easily modified to others fruits.

Leave a Reply

